Frontier

By Frontier

Tokyo Disneyland

Bobby Driscoll, Kathryn Beaumont, Paul Collins, Tommy Luske and The Jud Conlon Chorus - You Can Fly! You Can Fly! You Can Fly!

Today the Mrs and I went to Tokyo Disneyland. We just missed the incoming typhoon and we’re able to catch the bullet train and trains to Maihama Station. We dropped our bags off at the luggage service and went straight to the park.

I’m usually apprehensive about things like this, I’m a little old for theme parks, but the Mrs wanted to go. As soon as I arrived I was reminded about my parents taking my sister and I to Disneyland in Anaheim when we were little. The memories were so vivid, I was taken aback at how much I enjoyed it thanks to them.

The music filled the air and the outside world was not to be seen. On the PA system they played lots of the old Disney themes from the 30s-50s and some old traditional jazz standards, I felt to happy. They don’t make recordings like that anymore.

Because of the typhoon there weren’t as many customers as usual and we got to experience over 14 attractions total for the day with an average wait time of 10-20 minutes. It was great! Some rides we could get on quickly without the fast passes.

I really just wanted to experience the things I did with my family, like Jungle Cruise, Pinocchio, Splash Mountain and of course, Star Tours! I was crazy for Star Wars back then. The rides here are almost the same as the ones in California with some updates with characters and such. Star Tours had characters and scenes from episodes 1,2 and 3.

Although Beauty and the Beast is not in my top 10 animated Disney films, the attraction is easily the crown jewel at the park (with an average of two hours waiting time, the castle pictured above). The new magnetic technology to cart everyone around and modern robot technology was mind blowing and completely immersive. Being in the ballroom waltzing with Belle and the Beast was truly moving. I really couldn’t believe that I felt like I was in the movie with the characters. It was wonderful. So much so that I was crying! I’m not afraid to admit it but it was worth it.

After the days experience I felt very happy and wish I could experience it with my family. Never thought I would still feel so happy after all this time. It’s good to let go of prejudices and just fly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.