Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Job Done

This may be nothing to you avid DIY'ers out there but as someone to whom DIY generally consists of 'if it doesn't work, poke it with a stick' I'm quite pleased with myself.  We decided to put some trellis on this wall and then grow clematis up it.  The wall is just outside the side kitchen window and after the ornamental grasses took over earlier this year and crowded some of the other plants out, we pulled up the grasses in this area and have left some gaps which need filling.  I thought the first thing to do was the trellis so I ordered this 6ft x 4ft panel which was delivered this morning.

I then had to work out how to install it.  I bought some wood and made three battens which I screwed to the wall using 'thunderbolts', and then attached the trellis to the battens.  Everything is firm and level and in the right place and more importantly, it's been up there for over an hour and hasn't fallen off the wall yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.