Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brown

I finally caught up with one of the Brown Hawkers that have been patrolling the meadows for most of the summer. I usually disturb them from their resting places before I see them, and they head off into the distance. This one settled again nearby though.

A noisier flying object caught my attention when I was in the woods. I only got a quick glimpse, so please forgive the quality of the record shot in extras. It’s not often that I see a Spitfire flying by though.

Later I headed up to the King’s Hall in Ilkley for an Iain Matthews concert. I’m not really familiar with his work, other than being aware that he’d been in early Fairport and had had a number one in 1970 with his own band, Matthews Southern Comfort, with a cover of Joni Mitchell’s Woodstock. He’s still writing new songs though and has a vast back catalogue of recordings and collaborations from which he selected some to perform. He was also a good storyteller and happy to chat and sign some vinyl at the end of the night. And just to knit my worlds together I was able to confirm with him that he’d once had a trial with Bradford (Park Avenue). He said it confirmed with him that his future was as a singer-songwriter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.