Mrsmacdub

By Mrsmacdub

A frustrating day

I was determined to get my hair cut today as it’s lost its shape and was annoying me.  By the time we’d done a few things indoors and sorted out one or two issues it was probably nearing 11:30am by the time we left home. We’d decided to drive to save time as we knew we’d be walking to and from Rotary this evening.  We duly arrived at the hairdressing salon, which is a no appointment salon.  There was one lady in the chair when I walked in and two people ahead of me.  Well, this is definitely not Auckland.  Whereas the no appointment salon I frequented at Eastridge Shopping Centre would have me in the chair within about 5 minutes of arriving (there were at least three or four stylists always in attendance) and in and out in about 15 minutes once I’d sat down, Oamaru moves at a slower pace.  There is only one stylist and each person likes to chat as their hair is cut and styled.  So at 11:47am I let MrMacD know I’d be about half an hour, with one lady completed, the next one in the chair and one more ahead of me. I didn’t actually leave the salon until after 1pm.  I don’t mind, it’s just that I had a few things I wanted to get done today. 

On our way home we popped into Black Hawk Saddlery to revise slightly what we wanted and to look at fabric samples.  We picked up two lots of swatches to take home to make it easier to choose.  We had more bits and pieces to do after lunch and soon it was time to set off on our walk to the Rotary meeting down by the harbour.  We chatted to a few people, listened to the speaker and two new members being welcomed, enjoyed the meal and then headed back up the hill to home.  Unfortunately, we’ve only done 4.3 kms today but we’ll make up for it tomorrow.

I didn’t manage to take any photos during the day, so it’s an emergency blip tonight of the cabinet and mirror in our front entrance hall.  There are still paintings to hang and the flooring to sort out, but all in good time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.