This is the day

By wrencottage

St. Mary's Parish Church Memorial Hall

I walked to South Woodford again today to have new, longer, wires fitted in my hearing aids which hopefully will be a bit more comfortable than the present ones.

On my way I passed the listed Arts & Crafts building which is the parish hall for St. Mary’s Church, South Woodford. On land behind the hall once stood Woodford Hall, once the childhood home of William Morris, and I have blipped William Morris Senior’s grave in the church grounds on a previous walk to the audiologist here.

In extras you can see the hall’s weather vane, set against the wonderfully blue sky, and the plaque mentioning Woodford Hall where William Morris once lived. There’s also a photo I took in March this year which shows the name of the building picked out in copper in a gorgeous Arts & Crafts typeface.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.