Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Akbuk and arkadaşlar *

Although it doesn't look that hot, today was around 35ºC and humid - very uncomfortable. 

I went in to school late morning and had lunch with Deniz, so nice to see him and others. I miss these dear friends. 

Today's photo is of a side street in Arnavutkoy, taken around 5.30 when I walked in to the village to meet Marshall and others (Rommel, Andrea, Keiran, Danny) for a beer at Dantes bar. This was after a day spent both finishing my summer school report and proposal for next year and doing all those things you do before traveling, for tomorrow is my last day in IIstanbul and it's back to Akbuk tomorrow evening after a truly wonderful time. Meanwhile, all the still-teaching-teachers start tomorrow with meh meetings so today's drink together was a kind of 'bye bye summer' for them, and 'bye bye Istanbul' for me.  

Back at Konak by 7pm to join my summer neighbours for the traditional grilled fish and potluck salads night. A wonderful few hours in the company of ten lovely people I'm lucky enough to call neighbour friend. It seems a bit weird that their summer holiday ends as mine begins. I' happy to be going back as Bev and Nigel, Janice and John also all arrive in Akbuk tomorrow while Claire and Vaughan are already there - so I'm swapping location for a different set of friends and Istanbul for the rural setting that is my summer home on the Aegean.  

*arkadaşlar = friends

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.