A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Dreaming of Provence...

... just north of Leeming Bar. 

I didn't expect to see this field of sunflowers so I just had to stop and grab my Blip. We had popped down to just outside Thirsk to buy a LPG refillable gas tank and a new gas tank locker for the camper van. The size of gas bottle that fits the van are no longer being sold and this new type, although expensive to buy, is much cheaper and simpler to refill. The old gas bottle locker isn't up to modern safety standards either.

We spotted the field as we headed up towards Catterick. 

Near Catterick we looked around a caravan centre for ideas and to see what their shop had in stock. Nothing bought except the tea/coffee and scones in their on site cafe.

Afterwards I set about removing more of the old bathroom/wc from the camper van. Doing this type of renovation you can open up a can of worms or in my case an old mouse nest! At first I thought the wood chip flooring was degrading because it was wet but when I took a closer look the floor was all there and the piles of clippings were seed heads and the like.

More concerning a couple of wires have been eaten through but what they are for I've not idea. Nothing electrical in the van doesn't work so more investigation needs to be done there. Also I need to check where the dampness has come from, it is under some joints in the water pipes and very close to the water pump.

Most of my efforts were taken up removing the WC side of the panelling and the shower floor. This was glued to another ply board that had been screwed to the van floor. These jobs certainly get messier before they get better... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.