The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

Balanced

A quick lick and polish after the wee one was delivered home this morning and some glad rags put on…then it was off out for lunch and a visit to the barracks with the WI. It was a very convivial afternoon and the barracks proved much more interesting than I expected. 

The most interesting exhibits to me were the dead man’s pennies awarded to the next of kin of soldiers who didn’t come home from war…I’ve got the paperwork indicating one was awarded after the death of my great uncle during WW1 but have no idea what happened it or his medals. I’d always assumed the penny was akin to an old 1d piece but they’re huge and certainly not easily lost or misplaced and all have the soldiers name embossed on them…I’d like to think that great uncle Normans is safe and sound somewhere and proudly displayed.

Home and glad rags off to perform a tidy up operation…the walking group are coming here for a cuppa after our walk tomorrow night and the house needs to look presentable! The garden also needed sorted as a silly pigeon has been trying (unsuccessfully) to build a nest on the bracket of my tv dish thingy…I couldn’t understand where all the bits of twig had come from when it was windy a few days ago then I happened to look up! I’ll need to get someone to take the rest of it down now.

Part of the barracks forms my blip today and one of the exhibits in extras…I’m sure the operator of this till always hoped it balanced at the end of the day. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.