KathyH58

By KathyH58

August 23

A nice day out. We used my sister's car for the trip, but I did most of the driving. I bumped my head once when getting in, a reminder that it is lower than my truck. When I got back in my truck later this afternoon to come home I felt so much higher off the road and better visibility over the steering wheel.
We left Oxford and took one of the back roads to Amherst, found a few old barns thru there to photograph. Then into Sackville, New Brunswick for a walk at the Waterfowl Park. The bottom 2 photos are from there. There is an artist in residence for the Waterfowl Park and we found a few of her creations. Crocheted moss and lichens and some other decorations. Next stop was for me, I had heard about a plant store/flower show and I wanted to stop there, and yes I bought a few more houseplants for myself. New Brunswick still has several covered bridges, and Google told us there was one near Sackville so we found it to get a few photos. 
Then we headed for Johnson's Mills, a place on the Bay of Fundy where thousands of shore birds stop to feed during their migration to South America. Unfortunately the best time to see them is from about 2 hours before high tide to 2 hours after. High tide today was at 5:30 pm, meaning the best time started around 3:30. We were there at 2 pm, so there wasn't much to see. We still had an hours drive to get back to Oxford, then I had another 2 hour drive to get home, so we didn't want to hang around for another hour or more.
We had been given some directions to get there but it was missing one key point. They needed to say to keep going past the first turnoff for Hwy 935 and take the second turnoff. We crossed the railroad tracks and it eventually turned into a gravel road, that was correct. We came to another intersection, but there was no signage for the direction we were going. So we kept going straight, the road was getting worse, so we turned around. When we got back to the intersection then we could see the sign for Hwy 935, so we should have turned. This time we did and eventually came to Johnson's Mills.  We continued on this road, and it was a paved road and it didn't take us long to get back to Sackville.
After stopping in Oxford to pick up my things at the motel, I headed for home. I decided to stop at Masstown Creamery, they have a cafe there,  and they also make cheese on site. I ordered a grilled cheese sandwich. It had wild blueberry jam on it with mozarella cheese on sourdough bread with a garlic spread. It was good! I also bought a couple of pieces of cheddar cheese, a tomato basil one and a maple chipotle one. I have yet to try them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.