Capital adventures

By marchmont

Relaxing?

Another one of my legendary busy days, not helped by a self induced really bad sleep night.  But I did get up an cycle to the pool and had a good swim.  Really wakes me up. 

Back home I did a bit of this before it was time to go to #2 son's to await the arrival of the insurance guy.  I started to cut the jungle out the back but the grass was too wet and I was in danger of blowing up the  mower so only two passes done.  D, the assessor, arrived on time so I was away and home sharp.  Then followed much to and froing with said son about the next steps. 

I had some tome to kill before the next outing so I cut MY grass, as did G next door, his not mine!

Before I knew it it was time to get changed for the rest of the day.  Posted #2's card and then to the Manor to do a bit more carpet cleaning, not sure if it's any better.  After that took Mum to the dentist and had an assignation with #3 son so he could give me the new stair key.  The appointment went quicker than anticipated but we had a while to wait for the taxi which whisked us to Prestonfield for afternoon tea.

The staff are excellent (well it is 5*) but it's not lack of mobility friendly!  We had loads of time for our tea but it was hard going as Mum has virtually no conversation.  Sitting in silence trying to think of things to say is not my thing. I had to go out and take a call about this morning's interviews (not a good news story) and sussed out the access for later. 

The later was in the Stables for a Conversation between Christopher Biggins and Dame Arlene Phillips.  They'd been having their afternoon tea on the front lawn along with James Thompson (the owner).  Arlene was very entertaining and I think Mum enjoyed it. The place wasn't full, though it's fully booked for Sir Cliff on Saturday and Sunday.  The peacocks feature on the giant Prestonfield deck chair but only one peacock is left.  There were pizzas and Luca's ice cream in the Festival Village but we didn't risk the chuckies. 

Then taxi #3 to drop Mum off home and take me to George St for the last event of the day - Jeremy Corbyn and Ken Loach being interviewed by Susan Morrison on 'Culture for the Many'.  Being dropped off early I managed to be near the head of the queue so got a seat near the front.  It looked like a sell out!  It was a really good evening.  Having worked for Crisis it was good to be able to hear Ken Loach talking about 'Cathy Come Home'.  Suddenly realise how old you are when the background and story of that has to be explained to the audience. There was also music and an amazing young poet, Rosa Moxham, who read her own poetry.  And as an aside, Jeremy Corbyn is taller than I thought. On the way out I bought a ticket for Friday's 'The Cabaret of Dangerous Ideas' and then managed to get a #37, just missing seeing the Tattoo fireworks.

Got home at 11.20 and surprise to surprise, in bed by 11.30!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.