Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cheeky monkey

This morning I spent some time in the gym, stretching and doing my usual weights routine - my back has been very painful again, my fault as I have lapsed with my daily stretches to help my back due to being too busy and the day of travelling on two planes did not help it. It felt better after all the stretching exercises. 

When I got back to the room after gym there was a monkey about to come in through the balcony door, as I had forgotten to close it. Monkeys are very brazen here and can be a nuisance, and if you leave doors and windows open they can come in and cause havoc. I chased it out and then took a photo of it as it was sitting on the balcony railing.

It rained all day today and was cool, so we planned a bit of an indoor day. The hotel is in the colonial style with many interesting reception rooms, lounges, a library, bars, each one very well decorated - like a stuffy old English club, cosy and comfortable - so it's perfect for lounging about when it is wet outside. 

We were very sad to say goodbye to Inca this morning - actually I was nearly a bit tearful. Tommy went out to the airport with her in the taxi to see her off and then got an Uber back. My brother arrived around midday, he had flown down from Johannesburg earlier this morning. So today we have spent chatting and catching up. Later we went to my niece's house as she has bought a new bed for her toddler and the boys offered to assemble it for her, it's a wooden bed with a frame on it that has a canopy on it, and is rather a fun bed for a toddler. It was quickly assembled (it's not IKEA).

I had hoped to finish editing my safari images and catching up on journals but with family around its not possible as there is much chatting going on!

Tonight we are all going out to an Italian restaurant for dinner, there will be a large group of us including my sister and brother. 

Tomorrow is back to sunshine and hot weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.