Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A busy beach day

Today was forecast to be sunny and hot, but while it was warm it was not sunny. I had an early morning run on the promenade and then went and got my camera and took some long exposure photos of the waves breaking on the landmark whale bone pier, as seen here.

We had planned to go to a beach in Balloti, north of where we are, where the water is meant to be free of Ecoli and has good waves for the boys to surf. This coastline has enormous waves, it usually hosts the annual pro surf competitions. 

The boys hired surf boards from the surf shop and went to surf at the beach recommended by the surf shop - however the waves were very rough and there were too many rocks so we got back in the car and drove further down the coast to Salt Rock. The waves were very big and the sea was rough, plus there was a strong side current and riptide but the boys had a good attempt at surfing. In the extras you can see the surf dudes! My brother came with us and my niece joined us at the beach with her children who enjoy playing in the sand.

We got back to have lunch at the hotel and then Gavin and I went to buy some foodie goodies to take home and some drinks for tonight, as my niece was hosting everyone for a BBQ. I had forgotten that the supermarkets are not allowed to sell alcohol so after we bought the food items we had to go to a liquor store to get beers etc. 

The day seemed to run away with us as by the time we got back it was time to go to my niece for our BBQ supper. I am posting this while at her house as when we get home after supper we have to pack, as we leave tomorrow morning to return home to the UK. We have a long day of travelling ahead of us tomorrow which I am not looking forward to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.