Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The damp, the sunny and the torrential

I checked the local forecast last night as today was the Argyllshire Gathering, our local Highland Games. It was depressing - heavy rain all day! I decided not to go!

However the forecast this morning suggested that it would be merely showery in the morning with some sunshine, but with heavy rain after 3pm. I changed my mind and took the 'short cut' over the hill, along a footpath known locally as the 'Chicken Run', emerging in Polvinister Road opposite the Games field. Unfortunately I was only five minutes from home when the heavens opened! I took shelter under someone's car port, but in spite of that I arrived in rather a sodden state. As I crossed the road I joined with the crowd of pipers and spectators who had marched down from the town centre.

We had several hours of lovely sunshine and I took many pictures and chatted with a lot of friends and acquaintances. My Blip today is of a long-jumper. There's always a very much two-tier audience - it's rather fun taking pictures of the posher end of the crowd outside their tickets-only enclosure! My first extra is of the Duke of Argyll - on the right - and the second is of someone who has overdone the hair-do!

Five minutes after leaving around 2.30pm the rain began again, so I had a pretty unpleasant walk home! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.