Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Beans, spuds and chickens

A dull day today - a few bouts of drizzle none of which really came to much.

This morning I walked down to my favourite bramble-picking spot above the Rockfield Centre - my Blip today. There were many more ripened berries than there were less than a week ago so I spent quite some time filling a couple of bags. On the way back I went up to McCaig's Tower as I'd seen quite a few ripe berries just below the Viewing Platform fence, so I picked a few there to the amusement of the tourists just a couple of feet above me! When I got home I bagged them and put them in the freezer - another 5lbs!

After lunch I drove to the Walled Garden to see if there were any more runner beans - I picked a couple of dozen, but there are quite a few small ones which won't be ready for a while. I got sidetracked helping Jo the manager persuading an escaped chicken to go back into the run!

I hadn't planned to lift any spuds, but decided to do half of them - I came back with a couple of carrier bags full. I'll lift the rest on Sunday maybe, before I go down to London on the Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.