Rush hour over the Thames

Every so often I see a famous London landmark from another angle and it looks different. This time, St Paul's, the Gherkin, Waterloo Bridge and Blackfriars Bridge seen from under Hungerford Bridge where I waited for Fred after work. I like the air of busy interest that the photo has - the flying pigeon, various lines and forms of transport. It was the third and final day of tube strikes and the pavements were noticeably more busy with people walking. The boats along the Thames were more crowded, too. Fred and I walked over the Hungerford Bridge and down the South Bank to London Bridge, and that stretch was as crowded as it is on a Saturday with people walking. It was a lovely evening, so I think the pubs were applauding the tube strike as all the ones we passed were very busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.