pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

View from Clee Hill

It has been a relaxed day, yet we seem to have packed a lot in to it.

I woke at 7 then dozed. We got up at about 8, had breakfast outside, then had coffee and felt in no hurry to go anywhere. It was nice just to sit and read in the sunshine.

Then we drove to a garden centre we had seen, for a late coffee and cake, and from there went to Ludlow. We had had a lot of coffee and cakes this week - I wouldn't like to add up what we have spent, but it's a relatively short holiday, so we are trying not to worry too much about the spend.

In Ludlow we parked on a stretch of road which had the last remaining intact gateway to Ludlow. The town originally had 7 of these. It is similar to one at Alnwick. A small narrow archway, which one car can barely fit through. We were surprised how busy it was.

We walked through the arch and up to the main high street. It was lunchtime, so we bought subway salads and sat by the castle. Then walked down to the river, passed so many more beautiful cottages, of all ages. There was a cafe there, and lots of families with children enjoying the water. It was a nice atmosphere.

Back through the main street I made a few purchases, first a pile of books from a charity shop then some things I treated myself to in the Fat Face sale. Now I must not spend any more money while we are away!!

We dropped in to tesco for bbq stuff, before driving back via Clee Hill. We were intrigued by this place, when we visited the Mappa Mundi yesterday. Being a map of the world, you wouldn't expect that many placed to be named on it, but it was drawn by a man in Hereford (but I think from Lincoln, I need to look back at my book) so he added this high point. The views over Shropshire and surrounding counties was incredible. The area had been mined, and remains of the mine works are evident, although there is no information.

Drove back to camp to find it full - 3 new caravans and a tent arrived today. All very friendly.

Jon lit the bbq and we cooked dinner. It is still, and not cold, so has been lovely to cook and eat outside. We have eaten outside all week, and managed well with just the canopy. Thankfully no rain. We don't think we will bother getting an awning. But we do need to seek out our windbreak, which we are pretty sure wasn't in the stolen caravan. Perhaps the shed? I'll look when I get home.

I toasted one marshmallow to make a 's'more' for my pudding, but Jon didn't want one. Added some logs to the spent bbq and now have a small fire to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.