PandaPics

By pandammonium

Crumble and custard

I’m a northerner; I grew up on gravy and custard – no, not together – I’m a northerner, not a monster!

Anyway, I made this rhubarb and ginger crumble yesterday. We ate half of it then and half today.

I made the crumble topping myself, although I can’t be bothered rubbing the fat into the flour (I can still see and hear Mrs Naughton telling us to get the air into it), so I used an electric mixer. Much quicker and less icky!

I flavoured the sweetened crumble topping with lots of ginger, some sweet cinnamon and a pinch of allspice. I put slivers and slices of stem ginger in syrup, along with some of the syrup, in with the rhubarb.

I wanted to eat the whole thing with lashings of custard, but there’s another mouth in the house that likes it as well, despite claiming to be ‘more of a savoury person’. Very irritating.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.