PandaPics

By pandammonium

Writing in Ely

I went to a new-to-me café this afternoon to meet some of my writing group members to write together. It’s good to have writing buddies for encouragement and accountability.

When person B turned up, they found person A already there, tapping away on a laptop.

B: Are you in the writing group?

A: No, but I am writing.

B: Do you want to be in a writing group?

A: Yes!

The conversation was pretty much repeated when me and another writer turned up separately at the same time.

We all talked about writing for a bit, in particular what we were about to be working on, then settled in for a really good writing session each, broken only by brainstorming and similar discussions. Time whizzed by, and it was time to go. We all agreed it would be good to do it again some time.

The person who wasn’t me, A or B left first, leaving me, A and B discussing Toppings on a street corner close to Toppings. We decided that if we were going to talk about it, we might as well go in.

We had a lovely old time in there talking about, amongst other books, The Handmaid’s Tale – both book, which I’ve been hankering after, and telly programme, which caused the hankering.

There’s a sort-of sequel to the book, which gives a nod to the telly programme. I’m assured that the original book, which only the first series is based on, is better than the programme.

We agreed that we liked Janine the best, and that we found Aunt Lydia a fascinating character with her own moral compass. She can be kind; she can be brutal.

The man behind the counter said there was a seventh series. I can’t imagine how they’re managing to milk it for so long. Probably all those long drawn-out cinematographic shots of the main character doing nothing.

I went to Superdrug after that and found they have some vegan hair dyes now, and I got a lipstick that isn’t the same colour as my lips so you can see if I’m actually wearing it. I don’t wear makeup very often.

Then it was time for Tesco. They’re refurbishing still, so everything continues to move around. Lightbulbs are never in the same place twice.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.