There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Zipper Spider, With Flowers

When I go on my morning walk, I am always on the lookout for critters of all kinds. Sometimes it's cool bugs. Other times, cats. And sometimes, deer. On this day, there was a huge collection of bug life going on around some flowers by the road.

I found some grasshoppers, and bees, and also two spiders. This one was the bigger of the two, and I believe it is Argiope aurantia, the black and yellow garden spider, also known as the zipper spider or the Steeler spider (yes, black and gold = Pittsburgh Steelers colors).

The spider's web was right beside a lovely collection of flowers, and it seemed like a good strategy to me: placing a web by something that would attract other bugs. Good planning ---> good eating!

I had other shots that better displayed the yellow and black of the spider from the top, but I liked the fact that this one clearly showed the zigzag/zipper and the rest of the web, with the pretty flowers in the background.

Our soundtrack song is No Doubt, with Spiderwebs.

P.S. The answer to yesterday's trivia question: the Moose had the wrong end of the kazoo in his mouth. Your mouth goes against the broader end, not the narrower end. (Who knew?!?!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.