Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer's Day?

It was time for a visit to some woods and waters, and so my husband and I headed to a favorite swimming hole we know of in one of the local state forests. We had our floaties and our swim fins, our chairs and our cooler, and my Tiger, and we were ready to spend a summer's day!

The water was as warm as it's been all summer, and the turtles were out. We'd see a turtle nose rise above the surface, then disappear. I presume they are snappers, but they never came too near. "Avast ye!" I called out to Tiny Tiger; "We've got snappers on the port bow!" T. Tiger looked appropriately chagrined! (Look at those snappers!)

My husband swam all around with his swim fins, and I blew up my floatie and swam with it. You know how it goes. You're sucking in air and blowing out air and you almost pass out from hyperventilating or some such nonsense. But hey, it's all in the name of fun, right?

It was hot on land because it was so sunny, and very near noon when we arrived. We got in the water straight-away and then we were fine. Even though it wasn't as chilly as it has been sometimes, the water cooled us off and we had a great time! (Lots of sunblock first, though!)

Then we went and sat in the picnic area and listened to music and read our books and talked, and I chased a butterfly or two. Puffy white clouds came and went against a blue summer sky. What a lovely summer's day!

For our ride home, we put on the Grass Roots' greatest hits, and this is the first song on the album, which seems quite fitting for our day. Here are the Grass Roots, with Let's Live for Today. I love it when my husband sings it to me!

We were never meant to worry
The way that people do
And I don't need to hurry
As long as I'm with you
We'll take it nice and easy
And use my simple plan
You'll be my lovin' woman
I'll be your lovin' man
We'll take the most from living
Have pleasure while we can

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.