Marionb

By Marionb

Mother Nature's Garden...

We do not have much soil on this island to cultivate a garden ...but we do have lots of rock and sand; but, no matter, Mother Nature does a fine job working with what she has to makeup for that. We do have gardens; they just are not of our making....We have rock gardens with water features, and a meadow-like garden of native plants on the beach! 

I had gone down to the shore this morning to await a colourful sunrise which did not materialize, so figured that I too should make use of what I have right in front of my eyes...and make it into a blip....hence..Native Plants of Cottage Country

It was a cloudy, cool day, but the sun did appear long enough for my sister and I to entertain our brother on the dock before dinner. In the later evening we sat out in the screened porch to enjoy the brilliant moon and its reflection on the water..and unexpectedly, were joined (BAT ALERT) by my buddy the bat who swooped down, landed on the outside of the screen and clung there staring at us... until I left to get my camera..at which point, of course, he darted away...of course....

Usually, my brother leaves in his boat before dark as it can be a challenge trying to navigate the channel at night to get back to his cottage. As the moon was so bright last night though, he stayed ...but then, of course, the moon disappeared and the clouds rolled back in which made for a hasty exit, but he did manage to get home OK....

It was a good Sibling Day; the three of us seldom get together..usually  only at the cottage and usually we are not all there at the same time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.