Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Junior

Gorgeous little fledged spotted flycatcher on the branch on the lake side in the Forest of Dean.

Yes I went back and if you follow me you knew I would however all the problems of the shot that I mulled over last night still didn't sort themselves and I just went for it.

I hiked the 500mm with extenders to the pond - no this was not the 3 Peaks Challenge it was if anything just 50 yards negotiating 'stuff' like brambles and bracken catching the tripod legs. It didn't work out:  too far, too high ISO and really? Rethinking ...

Put the big lens back in the car boot (trunk) and I started again. Shifted the position so I could sit on my new tripod seat thingy and sorted the tripod. You almost know without doubt that if you move position the action will happen and I moved and happen it did so I moved back. A herd of elephants couldn't have made more noise frankly but after a time I got Junior nearer. 

I then drove home and had a small sandwich as I was starving then saw my emails and messages flooding in.

I had the heads up on a rare dragon in  Worcestershire  bolted into the car and headed off. Got there, found the spot, the weather changed dramatically and I fell asleep in the car. For ages. Is this what is in store falling asleep on the job? I still don't feel great in my defence. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.