Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Catching Flies

Off to the Forest of Dean to sit with my erstwhile kingfisher which I thought wouldn't be too exerting to be honest but unfortunately it made no appearance and hadn't been seen that afternoon at all - even if it's still around. 

The guy on the other side of the lake when packing up shouted out that he'd seen some spotted flycatchers around but they weren't in my vicinity - nothing was. I packed up with a view to maybe getting a dragonfly shot dumping my gear in the car and walked the other bank.  Suddenly right opposite me a tiny  little brown/grey bird fluttered in and out of the beech leaves. And then there were two. I was quite excited really as I've never nabbed one before. Not the greatest shot here but of a flycatcher with fly but  it at least is identifiable which is a start.

Standing there I needed a tripod and longer more open lens but even then if I go back soon they will  still be small. Perhaps I could hire an inflatable and drift over? 

The Extra is the shot as I saw it through the lens.

Two even more tiny flycatchers sitting on the same branch in the Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.