Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Here They Come!

We were abruptly awoken just after 5am this morning when our neighbours' alarm went off, crikey it was loud.  We were in charge of feeding the cat and I'd let him in overnight so I was hoping he had set off the alarm and there wasn't some burly chap with a baseball bat waiting for me when I threw on a fleece over my pjs and slipped feet into cold crocs.  The cat leapt out of the door when I opened it and was off in to the shrubbery to calm down whilst I did a quick recce of the house before Tony appeared. We secured the house and Tony went back to bed.  There was little point in me doing the same because I had to be off to set up Parkrun.  At least I could take time over my breakfast and catch up with the Archers.

We welcomed over 100 participants again including lots of newcomers.  Our tailwalker hailed from Basingstoke (working locally at the moment) and we discovered he had clocked up 638 parkruns which is very impressive.  Parkrun is full of inventive folks who have devised various challenges such as alphabetical order and running a different parkrun each week.  Tailwalker Paul follows the Wilson formula (!)  I looked it up but I still don't understand it.  Far too many clever folks in the sport.

I was marshalling by the old lido today and so was able to blip the runners coming down on to the meadow.  Back home it was time to do the processing and then I've been trying to get some pieces in the Sistine Chapel!  It's hard work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.