Flossmo

By Flossmo

Hopi black

I was rather hoping for a rainy day so that I could justify a quiet time, reading and making art. It wasn't to be. The day dawned dull but dry so after breakfast I put my gardening clothes on and made my way outside. I potted up some lavender cuttings that I took in the spring, took some more cuttings, tidied up my pots and moved everything out of my plastic 'greenhouse' and into the pot area in the hope that the plants will get some water whilst we are away. Somehow the morning slipped away and a shower of rain took me inside.

Later it brightened up again so I agreed to mow the lawn whilst Mr Flossmo tackled some weeds with a new toy - an electric hot poker. The lawn had grown some over the last few weeks and it was heavy work but it does look a lot better for it. Just as I was finishing another shower passed through so we quickly put everything away a second time.    

After a cup of tea we trundled over to Sainsburys for our weekly shop. The shop is currently being reconfigured after the closure of the inhouse pharmacy - it has freed up a lot of floor area. Presumably more people are using online pharmacies and getting home deliveries; a blessing for the housebound, I suppose but I can't help feeling we will end up losing a valuable source of help. No doubt there will now be room for yet more shelves of crisps and fizzy drinks.  In the meantime I will continue to support my local pharmacy for my medication needs. 

The photograph is of a bee on a Hopi black sunflower that I grew from some seeds that were given to me earlier in the year during a natural dye making course. There are a few more flowers about to open. Hopefully there will be seeds from which to make some inks and a few to plant again next year.   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.