Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Adam's birthday

We had a pleasant 12 hour flight from Cape Town to London overnight, and I even managed to get some sleep. However, I knew we were due to land at around 5am so as I was awake at 4am I went into the tiny washroom to clean my teeth and wash my face before the 'morning rush' on the washroom. Only later I realised it was actually 3am - I forgot about the 1 hour time difference. So it has been a very looong day so far and I am feeling very tired. 

We got home to a spotless house - Fiona (who was looking after Xena) had already left but she had sweetly left a welcome card, a vase of flowers and some freshly baked sourdough bread for us to eat for breakfast. She had even stripped the bedding off her bed and washed it and hung it up...amazing!

We unpacked, I did some loads of laundry and got showered as at 9.30am we went to The Ivy in Cobham for breakfast to celebrate Adam's birthday. I cannot believe that my lovely son is now 26 years old!  The bank holiday is always the birthday weekend in our house as Adam and I are two days apart. The breakfast was very good but I have been feeling a bit nauseous all day so did not eat a lot. I think it is my biorhythms thrown out of sync with that early start this morning, haha, as I was already feeling nauseous on the plane.

After breakfast I went grocery shopping, we had to stock up on most things. Groceries, laundry, unpacking and clearing the mail has taken care of most of the day, but I also finally managed to edit the last few photos from our safari trip - if you are interested you can see some of them here.

It will be an early night tonight as we are all tired, so not good circumstances for Adam to celebrate his birthday but he says he has enjoyed it so far. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.