Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Worse for wear!

Fungi in Ayton Wood - it looks as though it's been a year fro them this year and I wasn't there to witness it at its best.

Blackened hulls like the ribs of a viking ship littered the floor as I first entered the wood.  I think they are a member of the Russula family but I could easily be wrong.  Ive not seen them in Ayton Wood before, but I know where to find them on Mill Moor - they seem to be a fairly early species.
Them in the blip, is the stinky end of a Stinkhorn (on its way out).  Pink fungi I think are members of the Russula family but I don't know which - it's several years since I last saw them in this wood, so good to see them back, even if they are looking very battered.  They may have been trampled by sheep which can access the wood.  I don't know what the eggs are - they are just emerging and the slugs don't seem to have got to them yet and I don't know the chestnut brown one, which had been laid out like this ready to be photographed.

The last time I saw the pink fungi was 2019 and I didn't see as many different fungi as this today.

I didn't have much energy for the walk this afternoon as I'd spent a few hours in the garden in the morning.  And it was spotting with rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.