Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Small

I had to look at my Yard Bugs 2023 record to see if I'd already blipped this species and, surprisingly, I hadn't!  This is a Small Milkweed Bug nymph (Lygaeus kalmii), about the size of a plump grain of rice.  Eventually he will molt into an adult measuring between 1/3 and 1/2 inch (10-12mm).  Adults prefer to feed on nectar and milkweed seeds but may also feed on smaller insects (or so I've read).  They are sporty little insects and I never mind seeing them in my garden.

I had a nice long chat with my parents this morning.  They've been curtailing their outdoor activities recently due to smoke from wildfires but looked like today was going to be much better air quality.  Sure enough, about an hour after we'd gotten off the phone, Dad texted me several images from a walk they were doing.  

Hubs and I went out for a leisurely lunch at a pub where we enjoyed sitting outside.  And then, because I woke up feeling very tired this morning, I had a long nap.  I should clarify that I waited until we got home for the nap!

I think dark with coconut today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.