An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Luskentyre Old Cemetary...

Another full and wonderful day.

The weather forecast was heavy rain in the morning, with brighter spells in the afternoon, so we rejigged our plans and had a lazy morning.

David snoozed read his book while Patricia and I painted.  She wanted me to teach her how I paint my thistles.  I have absolutely nothing to teach her.   What could I possibly teach a Harvard Arts graduate and retired art teacher?  She is one of the most creative and artistically talented people I know!  It really would have been teaching my granny to suck eggs!

We had fun none the less, painting our thistles and discussing art mediums, techniques and equipment.  I did give her a demonstration on materials new to her - Brusho.  Really difficult to control the powdered pigment but that's part of the fun, every painting a surprise :-)

After lunch we headed to Rodel to see St Clement's Church.  We took the main road as we want to meander down the Golden Road later in the week.  Despite it still being grey, dull and drizzly when we left, by the time we got to Rodel, blue skies had appeared and some sunshine.

After exploring St Clement's Church (I didn't as the climb up to it is beyond me) we made a quick pit stop at the public loo beside the church.  It cracks me up as this loo has a visitor's book!  I didn't explore it though as I didn't have a pen :-)

We took the same route back - the scenic route, taking in all the stunning views over all the beaches to the North Harris hills, which were now visible. So beautiful.

We had a disaster though as just as Patricia was gearing up to take shots of the beaches, her camera battery died and she didn't have the spare battery with her.  We worked out a system where she could us my camera to take some shots and how we would know which shots were hers.  Great.

First stop roadside and my camera card announced it was full and I didn't have a spare card with me!  Honestly, all the years of photography experience Patricia and I have under our belts and we end up in this mess.

In the end, I deleted loads of shots from my card and when Patrica wanted to use my camera, she would put her card in my camera, take her shots then I would put my card in and take my shots.  It was hilarious!

Sadly I'm not at all happy with my photos but we will be down that way again so I will get a second chance.

Drove along to the entrance to Luskentyre Beach.  Wanted to see if the Cake Shed was open.  It's Sunday so of course it wasn't but we will return there also :-)

Home for dinner and I have spent the evening editing photos.  Got the dreaded message that I am running out of storage space again.  Damn!  I suspect from here on in I will only be editing my blips and a few other shots and tackling the rest when I get home. There aren't enough hours in the day here anyway for all the editing!

Once I had my blip and a couple of other shots sorted, I spent some time planning our route tomorrow (back to Lewis for the Blackhouses, the Carloway Broch, St Moloug's Church and Port of Ness) and Wednesday (Great Bernera, south Lewis beaches  culminating with dinner at Uig Sands restaurant . Really looking forward to that as couldn't get booked last year.

But now I really must get to bed. Night night :-)

PS Extra is the waterfall next to our holiday house. Lots of cascading water due to the rainfall.  Makes it all worthwhile :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.