An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I went in search of purple heather...

and found some :-))

The notion to be among purple heather came upon me during the week so after lunch and after David's swim with Alan we headed off to Glen Quaich in search of the little purple bells. 

I realise that once again that I've left it a bit late in the season to get the  heather at its best (I have put a note in the diary to go searching end July next year!) and this proved to be the case as we drove up the steep single track road just past Loch Freuchie.

Patches of the hills were bright purple but most of the heather had lost its beautiful magenta hues.  The little patch I've blipped was on the way back, at the little bridge over the River Almond just before entering the Sma' Glen.  White heather may be considered lucky, but purple heather is the colour of Scotland for me.

On the way home we may have stopped at Delivino and picked up a slice of raspberry and almond cake and a slice of cinnamon cake to be eaten with coffee when we got back.  And I can tell you we may have enjoyed it very much ;-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.