Feorlean

By feorlean

The Salutation

I was in Perth today for the first time in several years -  probably since the 2019 election campaign when I blipped a visit. 

I have always liked the city and  spent a lot of time in it when it was a regular venue  for the SNP's National Conference and National Councils .

The various meeting spaces available are now too small for the former, but the  SNP's revived National Council was convened there today for the first time since 2016.

I have stayed at the Salutation Hotel many times and  indeed during the 1995 Perth and kinross by-election it was my base for nearly  a month.  All the by-election press conferences  were held there, as was the post result  celebration after Rosanna Cunningham's victory.

The Salutation is reputed to be the oldest hotel building in Scotland , and was allegedly the place where Bonnie Prince Charlie had has 25th birthday party.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.