This is not a wasp

I spotted this insect during my walk with the sanctuary's Turkish Shepherd puppy this afternoon and thought it was a wasp at first until I moved a little closer and managed to take this shot of it with my compact camera. Unfortunately it disappeared into the shrub it was sitting on before I could take a better another photo of it. When I got home I looked it up in my insect book and discovered that this is actually called a wasp beetle. Whoever had given it its name must clearly have thought like me that it looked like a wasp.

Like the last few days, today has been another sunny and warm day. Weather this warm and I are not the best of friends though and I'm already wishing for the return of cooler temperatures.

Thank you so much for the kind comments and stars on my tribute blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.