Flossmo

By Flossmo

Ecoprinting

Today I had my first go at 'ecoprinting'. It's a technique for transferring dyes from leaves onto paper and fabric. It's achieved by trapping the leaves between sheets of paper and then steaming them in a kitchen steamer for an hour. The leaves are dipped in rust water before they are trapped between the sheets of paper and it is the iron dissolved in the water that 'fixes' the dyes onto the paper. It's somewhere on a scale between chemistry and magic. For a first go I was quite pleased with some of the effects achieved. There is plenty with which to experiment - different leaves, different papers, different steaming times and the application of other modifying substances eg vinegar. I will probable try and have another go on my usual studio day of Friday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.