Flossmo

By Flossmo

The Devil's Punchbowl

Since it is a bank holiday I allowed myself a lazy morning. I spent it continuing to tut-tut my way through the Tom Bower/Harry and Megan book. No one comes out of it well; not even Bower. I despair at what the wealthy spend their time doing.

Later I suggested to Mr Flossmo that we could drive over to Hindhead and walk at the Devil's Punchbowl. I had a concern that the car park would be full but in the event, by the time we got there just before four, we easily found a space. In fact the roads seemed surprisingly empty. Is everyone preparing for a return to work and school?

I had printed out a route from the NT website labelled as demanding with some steep gradients. The route was indeed quite challenging but with my walking poles I just about managed to keep up with Mr Flossmo and I was able to crib a couple of rests on the pretext of needing to stop for some water. There were people around but not so many and it was very pleasant under the trees. There were some stunning views towards London, too. We were back at the car inside two hours. The extra is what looks like bird boxes we saw along the way.

This evening we watched the first in the new series of University Challenge. Mr Flossmo was on blazing form; me, less so. It's Jeremy Paxman's last series. I will miss his cutting remarks and acerbic wit but after 28 years I guess he deserves a retirement.   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.