Marionb

By Marionb

At Last..

...a colourful sunrise...I was beginning to think it wasn't going to happen! And it was just in time..I leave for home tomorrow....

My last day at the cottage this time was packed full of fun things...the sunrise of course, and then my daughter and SIL decided to bring their "live-on" boat from town and anchor it overnight in a secluded bay near the cottage...My daughter was driving the Whaler alongside it, and popped into the cottage to pick up my sister and me and take us along for the ride... What a treat - we would get off-island after several days of being island-bound and spend some time out on the water!  

The bay where they set anchor was the perfect spot..sheltered from the wind with no cottages in sight. We sat with them on board for a while sipping a glass of wine, enjoying the peace and quiet, watching a heron fly by and admiring the cardinal flowers in bloom along the shore. It was a lovely sunny day and the evening looked promising for them too; it was going to be a clear night with an almost full moon..Summers are made for this...

My daughter dropped my sister and me off back at the cottage where I started packing up my stuff in preparation for going home tomorrow and then we enjoyed a relaxed evening chatting in the porch and watching that fabulous moon from our vantage point... and then trying unsuccessfully to get photos of it!  

It was a great way to spend my last day at the cottage ..a fabulous sunrise, time on the water, and an almost full moon in the evening! 
I have one more shot at cottage living in September and then? The season will be over...yikes. Already?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.