Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Cake of joy!

We had a busy day today. Had to take the 40 minute journey out to the hospital to return the sleep kit. Then we decided to use the fact we'd have to pass through town to get some errands done.

First stop was the bank. They have a fun machine that lets you pour the contents of your change jar in to it and then it will sort and count it for you. Gone are the days of having to count it in to change bags and then wait until you had the correct amount to fill it. We broke the machine. About £30 in to the process the machine stopped working. Ten minutes later, after lots of banging and clinking of coins, a man returns, hands black with dirt and holding a tiny scrap of plastic from the bag we'd carried them in. Ooops! We were far more careful with the rest of the bags.

After that we headed to Schuh to look at possible shoes for the wedding. My sister had forgotten I have big wide man feet though and I couldn't squish my feet in to the slender sandals she'd seen. Oh well, I will continue looking.

Few more errands and then we stopped by lush. They're currently doing a "night in for toes" pamper pack. I figure with the marathon just over a week away I deserve to give my feet a little treat. It's designed for two people which means I get one pamper this week and then another after the marathon.

My friend Kat came over in the evening to borrow the oven. She shares her birthday with her partner Dave so she wanted to bake a cake. The original plan had been we would decorate our marathon bras but that didn't happen so we spent at least three hours baking and decorating the cake you see above. It's even multicoloured on the inside too. Though for any budding multicoloured food bakers, use a paler shade for your cake mix than you want it to be. When baked it darkens, our lovely blue and red swirls turned in to deep black/purple. The perfectionist in me kind of wishes I'd waited until we'd tidied up the icing on the plate before I took this photo!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.