Pastoral Island

By graniteman

Volunteering day

Today I had a corporate volunteering day and rather than going into work I spent the day working with La Société Guernesiaise with six colleagues. In the morning we spent our time cutting out hemlock from the Bridget Ozanne orchid fields. The orchids are all in bloom at the moment looking very colourful. In the afternoon we went to the Silbe nature reserve where we stripped a hillside of bracken, brambles and nettles so that other grasses and plants could grow through. I have lots of scratches and nettle stings now, but it was satisfying at the end of the day to see what we had achieved.
I hoped to find a milestone down in that corner of the island but again was thwarted despite a careful search. I may have to wait until winter when the vegetation has died back to find the missing ones.
I have blipped this interesting house. It would make a good renovation project as it has many unusual features and a mature garden to go with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.