Pastoral Island

By graniteman

La Rue des Landes

My blip today is taken in the Forest, directly outside the airport. This is the grassy bank which hides the terminal building. The 4 mile milestone is still embedded in a wall which I presume used to run right along this stretch.
There are 26 known milestones in Guernsey, 23 of them are listed monuments by the Heritage committee. I think the other 3 are not in their original sites. Todays milestone is one of those and I think it was moved to make way for the airport in the 1930s.
I will see how many more I can blip, although I fear I will not get them all. So far there are three that I cannot find, I think they are either buried in a mass of ivy or have been removed for some reason. Most of the remaining ones are in the South of the island, so I've got some long distance cycle rides in the week ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.