Homework

Last week I started my six-week course at the Cleveland Photographic Society, and I had a homework assignment to do. Step one of the directions said to "go outside." Of course, I put it off and missed some great, sunny-blue-sky days for working on the assignment, so today, grey and gloomy (the weather, not me), I found myself in the park, homework assignment sheet clutched in my hand. This blip is part of the last assignment on the sheet, which included an experiment in panning. It instructed me to "Use an approximately "normal" (50-60mm) focal length and set up a composition of a person about 15 feet away from you. Have the person run across the view of the camera, and then take three exposures: one at a speed of 1/250; one at 1/60; and the last one at 1/60, but this time keep the person in the viewfinder and pivot with them as they run past."

Well, that was pretty clear, but I didn't have a person with me. It was obvious that I would have to "borrow" one, and one who wouldn't mind a little bit of running. So I approached a couple I see in the park occasionally. They happened to have two granddaughters with them today, so I said, "Would one of you girls like to help me do my homework?" Serendipity! Both of them wanted to help and, thanks to Brenna and Avril, I accomplished my task.

P.S. For the purpose of the assignment, all photos are SOOC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.