a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Today's newbie

Although we are nearly into September, the Common Darters are still busy emerging.  I can't remember a year when I've seen quite so many of them, which has to be good news.  Hopefully they will go on to ensure a plentiful supply of small dragon subject matter for next year.   

Here you can see this morning's dagon, clinging on to its exuvia while it waits for its wings to dry and harden.  I've never found one hanging from a stone before, but it made for a good sheltered spot for it: out of the wind and able to enjoy the hazy sunshine.  I'm particularly pleased with this shot, as I like the lighting, extent of detail and general composition. But no doubt some camera judge will explain to me what I've done wrong in a month or two when the club competition gets going again :-)

In case you are are interested, I popped out yesterday evening before it got too dark to check on the rescued darter.  It had moved from where I left it and had found what looked to be a reasonably safe place to spend the night.  Its wings seemed to be in better condition and I'm hopeful that it should be able to fly.  When I checked this morning it was no longer there, so I'm going to hope that the story had a happy ending.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.