Look Out

By chrisf

Liquid a Place

Hospital day again. The unit has a bit of a family feel, we are on first name terms with the nurses. Nurse C asked me what my “ jaunt” was going to be today. I said I was going to have a cultural fix and have a look at the biennale at the Tate in Liverpool.

The first room I went into was my favourite. Three big sculptural elements by Torkwase Dyson, the board on the wall explained the connection she was making with the transatlantic slave trade through the pieces and their setting. When I entered the room I was wearing a mask, my specs immediately steamed up. It was also very dark (the phone camera always lightens dark spaces) so to avoid colliding with the sculptures I took the mask off. The image is not a mono one.

The extra is back at the hospital, it’s a small remembrance space with a single birch tree and so fits todays widwed theme. Thanks to Bob for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.