kwchas

By kwchas

Wheatear - 96

One of the volunteers at Burton on Thursday is also a volunteer at Hilbre Island and today we had an early start with him to walk over to the island before high tide and stay over until the tide retreated.

I have been to Hilbre several times but it is the first time I have been there over high tide and it proved to be a terrific experience as there was only one other person there so we had the island to ourselves. In addition Colin is a bird expert and he had the key to the observatory and hide at the end of the island. We will definitely do it again and I think Colin enjoyed our company. 

I saw a few new birds for the year including this wheatear but I have also included a meadow pipit (bird 97) and a well disguised rock pipit (bird 98) which had been ringed.   

Album of the Day - Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera! - The Bad Shepherds (2009) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.