Keith B

By keibr

Marshall, Sons and Co, Gainsborough

Today's blip is taken outside the car museum in Härnösand. It's the largest car museum in Sweden and a fun place to visit if it's raining. It's a private museum and the owner is a collector of many things, large and small, from railway engines to mobile phones. A place to let your nostalgia run free!
I was parking there while I visited a car workshop over the road and looked at this steam engine that has recently appeared. I wasn't at all surprised that it was made in England as many machines from the steam age were imported to Sweden from the UK.
Looking more closely I could see it was made by Marshall Sons and Co, Gainsboro, England, Number 68250. The name is repeated around the wheel hubs, with the more normal spelling of the city, Gainsborough.
I searched Internet and was somewhat surprised to find there were several sites with information, including Wikipedia, of course. If you are interested go to Wikipedia and search for "Marshall, Sons" and it will probably be the first suggestion. (I tried to add a link in the usual way but it didn't work.)
The company survived, in one form or another, until 1998.
This machine was not a vehicle as such, more a self-propelled steam boiler. I suspect it was used in Sweden to drive a saw, as the timber industry in Sweden had many close links to England and Scotland.
I didn't do well with my links to Wikipedia today, but I did discover there's a whole category on Wiki Media of Marshall portable engines with 17 photographs of these machines around the world!
Once I'd done my car business I met Jan and Rose in town and we went off to Cafe Sigrid, newly opened by Lina, an acquaintance of ours. The atmosphere was lovely and the place was buzzing so let's hope it goes well. Lina has run her own restaurant previously, and worked as cafe manager at a local community college so she has lots of experience. She is also rather dynamic and brave, both qualities needed to make a success of a food business these days! More information from Jan's blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.