Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Damsons

I have had a productive day. Firstly I cooked up the apple windfalls to freeze for future breakfasts to have in my muesli.

While I was doing that Mr C picked damsons from the hedge in front of the house. I found I had some Lidl cheap vodka and enough sugar to make some damson vodka which should be ready for the C word in December. It was easy to do - just wash the fruit, prick it, and pop in a Kilner jar with the vodka and sugar and leave in a dark place.

Next I made damson and apple chutney. I could have cooked the fruit a bit first to remove the stones, or cut out the stones which is what I chose to do. Just as well as some had horrid little pink grubs in them.

So my vodka will have little worms like tequila. Well pickled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.