Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Alls well that ends well

What a stressful day. No doubt I’ll see the comical side when I calm down.

I needed to move money from one bank account to another but when I went to the phone my App had disappeared. When I reinstalled it instead of doing my face recognition it asked me to register but I didn’t want to as I already have an account. Mr C had a look but we couldn’t sort it so decided we’d have to call at the nearest branch (30 mile round trip) which we did. With all my details, bank card, proof of identity at the ready, I saw the young man at the desk. He took my phone and handed it back - it was waiting for the face recognition which hadn’t been offered when I’d tried. Grr. Thanking him, we left and drove the 15 miles back.

Just home my phone rang. The bank telling me they had my purse with all my cards etc. I hadn’t even noticed I’d lost it! Phew.

We thought before we went back (30 mile round trip again!) we’d just check I could make the transfer. Fine, till the bank texted to say they’d have to verify it for fraud and would get back under an hour. 2 hours later they still hadn’t so went back to the bank to get my purse.

While there the phone call came but I wasn’t fast enough finding all the info they wanted typed in so I had to wait on the phone for 20 minutes till an operator spoke to me. The girl in the bank said this was standard. Then I had 10 minutes interrogation about why I was transferring (to my own account but she said didn’t know that) and who I was paying from it and how long I’d had that account and where I lived previously. I understand this is to prevent fraud but instead of 2 minutes writing a cheque I have spent 5 hours on the issue, driven 60 miles and undergone skyhigh blood pressure. Maybe I won’t see the funny side.

#3 daughter had to drop off Ella and Nathaniel later than intended because of this. We took them through the woods so that they could climb trees and mess about. Nathaniel told me he’d been at a sports club and had played squash for the first time and he’d won the tournament. Ella said she been to play at her friend Imaan’s house and she had the most yummy curry ever, and she’d been taught how to eat properly with her hand.

On our walk we met a neighbour with her friend and 2 boxers which is the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.