NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

International Overdose Awareness Day

I decided to make good use of the beautiful weather today to go for a walk to Dock Park as after about three hours after waking, my fibromyalgia pain and fatigue were lower today. I took loads of photos on my ancient smartphone which I’m really pleased with. 

Dock Park in Dumfries is one of my happy places. I had a Boots Meal Deal for lunch and sat in the glorious sunshine - it did mind, body and spirit much good!

I’m putting this down to a better night’s sleep last night which I am thinking is down to be recommencing using magnesium supplements after a short break when I ran out.

They’re meant to be good for sleep and muscle spasms amongst other things - I take two before bed at night.

As today was International Overdose Awareness Day, I stopped by the awareness event in Buccleuch Street and spoke to some lovely lived experience volunteers, addicts in recovery and Peer Naloxone Champions. 

I thoroughly enjoyed training up in Naloxone and Nyxoid in June which I did online through the Scottish Families Agajnst Drugs website - it’s really easy and you get an e-certificate. I highly recommend giving it a go. I wrote about it back in June.

Today’s Blip photo is of a lovely man I chatted with, I forgot to ask his name as we were engrossed in talking about the importance of today. He was very interested in learning about Blip so I showed him it on his phone. 

A wonderfully friendly and non-judgmental group of people - very refreshing.

Today marks the 26th anniversary of the death of Lady Diana, Princess of Wales. I was fifteen when she died and I remember it vividly as I’m sure many, many people do. I think her legacy lives on in Prince Harry. I love how he has moved on from the toxicity of his family and so much trauma.

I’ve been watching his Heart of Invictus documentary on Netflix - highly recommended if you haven’t discovered it yet. Very inspirational. The challenges the disabled athletes have faced and surmounted are incredible, I have been glued to the series.

I’m exhausted but happy tonight. I’m hoping for a warm Autumn, fingers crossed! 

Thanks for all your kind comments, stars and hearts after my Blip break :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.