Pictorial blethers

By blethers

To the centre of the universe

People who know me know that I'm not actually a native of Dunoon - neither I nor Himself are from this side of the water. Today we went back to what in my youth felt like the centre of the then known universe - Byres Road, in the West End of Glasgow. I'm sure I've mentioned before that when we were at school we used to reckon you'd be sure of meeting at least one person you knew if you went on the tram or the bus to the corner of Highburgh Road and then walked the length of Byres Road, and it was our route first to school, Hillhead, and then to Glasgow University. Himself started his teaching career in the same Hillhead High, and I just a bit further down the road, in Woodside.

Today we were meeting my cousin and his wife for the lunch that was postponed by my being in A&E a month or so ago, in Six by Nico. The meal reminded me of our last cruise, consisting of six meticulously prepared little plates of exquisite food, half of which I still couldn't name despite having vulgarly photographed all of them. There was a bottle of very dry Prosecco and the best part of three hours of conversation before we parted, having arranged our next meeting, and all the time the entire world passed the window at which we sat.

So that's my top right photo - Byres Road, stretching south towards Dumbarton Road and the river, with the University and my school up the hill to the left. The shops are still mostly open and to all appearances thriving, which was in contrast to the city centre where we'd left the car to go shopping there later. We'd passed so many well-known shops that are no more, department stores and famous names, some now eating places or cafes, many just drearily empty and shut. The city centre also seemed quieter than we expected when we arrived, though getting out of it in the rush hour was as hellish as always. 

The left hand photo was taken on the Subway (Weegies never talk about the Underground, at least not in my day) - a very restricted route compared to London or Paris, but in its cross-river oval providing a wonderfully swift transition from one district to another. (It's as shoogly as ever). We went back to Buchanan Street, bought a pair of shoes each (getting one pair half price in a special offer!) and prepared for the drive home with a cup of tea in the rapidly emptying Buchanan Galleries, a not entirely cheerful experience surrounded by blinds coming down and lights going off. I can't imagine that it's scheduled for repurposing - I'll probably not be around to see it. The last photo is of the city skyline taken from the walkway from the shopping area of the Galleries to the car-park, overlooking Central Station. 

The queues and traffic on the M8 were horrific because of lane closures and repairs, so it was 8pm when we arrived home feeling completely shattered. It strikes me - strikes us both, actually - that we couldn't cope any more with living in the city - it's still fun to visit, and there's great food to be had, but it's just too difficult. I reckon you need youth on your side to cope with the demands of city life.

But you don't get a young woman standing in downtown Dunoon holding aloft a sign offering a hug to anyone who needed it ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.