Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Macro Test with New Camera

This afternoon, I checked out the macro capabilities of the telephoto lens on my new camera.

Here I have photographed both a male (left) and female (right) drone fly, Eristalis tenax.  The drone fly is a hoverfly that mimics a male honeybee. In almost all hoverflies, the Males have larger eyes that Meet in the Middle on the top of their heads. The females have a gap between their eyes.


To compare with what my older camera could produce, here is the same species that I blipped recently.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3131725682644616141

In processing both images, I added some sharpening, and the method used was a high-pass filter.

These are both single-frame captures.  I understand this camera can do a focus stack of stationary subjects but I have  yet to find out how to achieve that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.