Maureen6002

By maureen6002

A break in the clouds #2

Watching the early evening news this evening - a rare event in itself, as if I prefer getting my news from the radio or my online paper - I feel a slight sense of loss that we didn’t witness August’s Blue Supermoon yesterday. As yesterday’s blip demonstrates, the clouds covered the sky at sunset and, to the best if my knowledge, that’s exactly where they stayed. There is a chance to see it tonight, says the reporter, though weather conditions don’t look favourable. Too true, I think, listening to rain pattering on the conservatory roof.

So that’s it then. The next one won’t be until the 2030’s - I really feel I should have made more of an effort - not that I have any control over weather conditions- but it’s now too late. 

A few hours later and I’m upstairs about to start on the long process of getting myself ready for bed (sorting out meds for the morning, catheter issues etc) when there’s a shout from G downstairs. The moon is shining brightly in the garden (well obviously, not just the garden …..) and I just have to grab my camera and go outside. 

The sky’s not clear by any means, but - just like last night - there’s a break in the clouds through which the moon is shining brilliantly. No time for tripods, and fortunately I’ve got the right lens on my camera, so I just take several hand-held shots before it disappears from view. 

I’m so pleased to have seen this - even if it’s slightly past its peak fullness. It’s wonderful to capture the full moon, to see the detail of its pockmarked surface through the camera lens, but somehow I think I like the shots with cloud the best. For the second day in a row, my blip comes from a break in the cloud - somehow it seems symbolic. But, of course, the moon in all its glory must be seen, so I’ve included one cloud-free, and another partially blotted out by cloud (all better large on black)

I’m afraid there’s little evidence of my good intentions to catch up - though I will, and I know you’ll understand. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.