This is the day

By wrencottage

Drops ...

Not the best of days today. Poor Smithers had a fall in the night, being disorientated through being unable to see properly when he got out of bed. He fell on carpet, fortunately, and was uninjured, but it has shaken him (and me) up badly.

The consultant rang again this afternoon and asked how he was, and said he’d like to see him to check his eye pressures again. Fortunately I’d just got him up and dressed (it's all making him so tired he’s staying in bed a lot), so we were able to leave straight away. The consultant said his pressures are still high, so he gave him an extra tablet for that, and a few more drops in his eye, and a prescription for me to give him two more additional types of eye drop to administer, on top of the ones I am already doing. He assures us that, once the pressure lowers, the drops will take effect better and Smithers will feel much more comfortable.

Compared to the simple, speedy procedures I had on both my eyes, and which most people experience, this is a real marathon slog for Smithers and I feel so sad it had to happen to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.